Urgent Action Needed Now! FY19 Bus Funding

Enhancing Bus Transit | Ensuring Fair Funding

Bipartisan Congressional Bus Caucus Circulates Letter to Support FY19 Bus Funding

If your system is represented by a Congressional Bus Caucus Member, contact your Representative today and ask them to sign the FY19 Bus Caucus letter to conferees.

For all other transit systems, this is the last chance to weigh in with your congressional delegation to advocate for $550 million in FY19 bus funding.

See calls for outreach below.

Bus Caucus Letter – Seeking Signatures of Congressional Bus Caucus Members

The Bus Coalition is pleased to team up with the Bipartisan Congressional Bus Caucus to support $550 million in additional bus funding included in the House FY19 Transportation Appropriations bill. Caucus Co-Chair, Rep. Rick Larsen, is circulating the attached letter to other members of the Congressional Bus Caucus and asking for their signature. The letter will be sent to House and Senate conferees.

At the bottom of this email is a membership list of the Congressional Bus Caucus. If your Representative is one of the Caucus Members, it would be great if you could reach out to their office TODAY and ask them to sign the letter. The deadline for Representatives to sign the letter is Monday, November 26. (FYI, we are only seeking members of the Bus Caucus to sign this letter).

This request should be a relatively easy “ask.” However, because Members of Congress are inundated with dozens of similar requests, it would be good for you to highlight your local support and elevate the importance of this issue. Here is a quick note you can simply copy and paste in an email to the Transportation LA (feel free to personalize):

“As you may know, Rep. Larsen is reaching out to all members of the Congressional Bus Caucus and asking them to sign the attached letter to conferees. As a transit system in your district in need of additional resources, we strongly support the investment included in the House FY19 THUD Appropriations bill and encourage you to sign the letter. The investment in bus funding will go a long way toward addressing our backlog of needs.”

Outreach for all TBC Members

For those TBC Members who still haven’t reached out to your congressional delegation in support of the higher House level of funding, please forward the TBC/CTAA letter (attached) to your congressional delegation and ask for support. Here is a quick email you can copy and paste to your congressional delegation:

“Please see the attached letter from The Bus Coalition and CTAA advocating for $550 million in any final FY19 THUD conference agreement. As a transit system in your district in need of additional resources, we strongly support the investment included in the House FY19 THUD Appropriations bill and encourage you to weigh in with conferees in support of the House position. The investment in bus funding will go a long way toward addressing our backlog of needs.”

As always, if you need contact information for any congressional office, please reach out to joel@buscoalition.com.

Please let me know if you have any questions and thanks for your continued support and engagement! – Joel

Members of Congressional Bus Caucus

Representative Name

David Young

Rick Larsen

Jimmy Panetta

Denny Heck

Joe Kennedy

Matt Cartwright

Rodney Davis

Anna Eshoo

Rob Bishop

Jaime Herrera Beutler

Steve Stivers

Michael Turner

Darin LaHood

Bill Shuster

Peter DeFazio

Sam Graves

Cheri Bustos

Dave Loebsack

John Yarmuth

Glenn Thompson

 

State / District

IA-3

WA-2

CA-20

WA-10

MA-4

PA-17

IL-13

CA-18

UT-1

WA-3

OH-15

OH-10

IL-18

PA-9

OR-4

MO-6

IL-17

IA-2

KY-3

PA-5

Transportation LA Email Address

Michael.Rogenmoser@mail.house.gov

Alexandra.Menardy@mail.house.gov

John.Assini@mail.house.gov

David.Marten@mail.house.gov

Qais.Roshan@mail.house.gov

Samuel.Negatu@mail.house.gov

Miles.chiotti@mail.house.gov

Paul.Beck@mail.house.gov

Paul.Johnson@mail.house.gov

Anna.Breen@mail.house.gov

Nick.bush@mail.house.gov

Dan.hare@mail.house.gov

Ashley.Antoskiewicz@mail.house.gov

Libby.callaway@mail.house.gov

Elizabeth.hill@mail.house.gov

Jack.Ruddy@mail.house.gov

Leighton.huch@mail.house.gov

Will.collier@mail.house.gov

Zack.Marshall@mail.house.gov

Nick.Rockwell@mail.house.gov