We provide…

a collective voice 
making a difference
for local bus transit.

Our leadership, from our board to the Coalition staff, to our growing voice on Capitol Hill, is here to serve the growing and economically critical role of bus transit in your city or community.

Below is information on our current board membership, the staff that represents you daily, and works towards better bus transit across America.

The Bus Coalition’s Board of Directors

Elected every two years, the Coalition’s Board represents a wide range of system sizes and geographic diversity. The Board serves to guide our work on Capitol Hill, build relationships in Washington DC and within the transit community and advocate for membership expansion.  Responsibilities include in-person representation in our annual meetings, participation in monthly conference calls and voting on priority-setting motions raised to the board’s attention.

Those interested in serving in a Coalition leadership capacity should contact Executive Director Ed Redfern at ed@buscoalition.com

Shawn Donaghy

President, The Bus Coalition
CEO C-Tran, Vancouver, WA

Miguel Velasquez

Vice President, The Bus Coalition &
CEO RGRTA Rochester, NY

Todd Morrow

Treasurer, The Bus Coalition &
Executive Director, Island Transit, Coupeville, WA

Julia Castillo

Secretary, The Bus Coalition &
Executive Director
HIRTA, Urbandale, IA

Gary Rosenfeld

Membership, The Bus Coalition &
CEO Memphis Area Transit Authority Memphis, TN

Corey Aldridge

CEO & General Manager, Mountain Line, Missoula, MT

Jeff Arndt

VIA Metropolitan Transit, San Antonio, TX

Edgar Benning

General Manager MTA Flint, MI

Carrie Butler

Executive Director
TARC, Louisville, KY

Elaine Clegg

Executive Director, Valley Regional Transit, Boise, ID

Alex Clifford

CEO San Joaquin RTD
Stockton, CA

Jay Fox

Executive Director
Utah Transit Authority

Pat Walsh

Chief Marketing Office
LTD Transit, Eugene, OR

Mark Maloney

Director of Public Transit
RTC Washoe,  Reno, NV

Eddie Miranda

Vice President, Government Affairs
METRO, Houston, TX

Jeff Nelson

General Manager MetroLink Moline, IL

Noelle Pinkard

Organizational Advancement Officer
Hampton Roads Transit, VA

Doug Roelfs

General Manager, Greater Peoria Mass Transit District, Peoria, IL

Bob Ruzinsky

CEO, Dayton RTA Dayton, OH

Dorothy Yeager

Executive Director, OATS Transit, Columbia, MO

The Bus Coalition Staff

The Coalition’s staff is here to answer questions, large and small, that make local bus systems work better–in your neighborhoods and in Washington DC. Reach out to us, any time.

Ed Redfern

Executive Director

30 years of Capitol Hill experience and local level relationships in bus systems, large and small, nationwide.


Joel Rubin

Washington Representative

Driving positive change among Members of Congress and Hill staff on behalf of individual systems and bus transit alike.


Jayson White

Deputy Director

 Membership relations and network growth. Policy, innovation, and legislative analysis.


Kirby Garrett

Washington Representative

Strategic guidance for development of bus transit message and budget priotities on capitol hill.


Kristin De Jong

Membership Director

Managing membership database, and all membership and dues processes.


Lance Husak

Research Director

National policy, marketplace research and transit systems analysis. Lance makes sure the buses run on time.