Coalition Leadership

Enhancing Bus Transit | Ensuring Fair Funding

We provide…

a collective voice making a difference for local bus transit.

Our leadership, from our board to the Coalition staff, to our growing voice on Capitol Hill, is here to serve the growing and economically critical role of bus transit in your city or community. 

Below is information on our current board membership, the staff that represents you daily, and our contacts in the Congressional Congress in the House and Senate.

The Bus Coalition’s Board of Directors

Elected every two years, the Coalition’s Board represents a wide range of system sizes and geographic diversity. The Board serves to guide our work on Capitol Hill, build relationships on Capitol Hill and within the transit community and advocate for membership expansion.  Responsibilities include in-person representation in our bi-annual meetings, participation in monthly conference calls and voting on priority-setting motions raised to the board’s attention.

Those interested in serving in a Coalition leadership capacity should contact Executive Director Ed Redfern at

Richard DeRock

The Bus Coalition, President General Manager, Link Transit Wenatchee, WA

Russ Frank

Board Vice-President VP, Customer Service METRO, Houston, TX

Bill Carpenter

Bus Coalition Treasurer CEO RGRTA Rochester, NY

Donna DeMartino

General Manager/CEO San Joaquin RTD Stockton, CA

Aurora Jackson

General Manager
LTD Transit, Eugene, OR

Randy Hume

Transit Director Fayetteville Transit Fayetteville, NC

Mark Little

General Manager MET Waterloo, IA

Eric Wolf

General Manager AMTRAN Altoona, PA

Jeff Nelson

General Manager MetroLink Moline, IL

Mark Donaghy

Executive Director Dayton RTA Dayton, OH

Alex Clifford

CEO Santa Cruz METRO Santa Cruz, CA

Len Engle

Fmr Executive Director AVTA Lancaster, CA

Edward Benning

General Manager MTA Flint, MI

Gary Rosenfeld

CEO Memphis Area Transit Authority Memphis, TN

Shawn Donaghy

CEO C-Tran Vancouver, WA

The Bus Coalition Staff

The Coalition’s staff is here to answer questions, large and small, that make local bus systems work better–in your neighborhoods and in Washington DC. Reach out to us, any time.

Ed Redfern

Executive Director

30+ years of Capitol Hill experience and local level relationships in bus systems, large and small, nationwide.

Joel Rubin

Washington Representative

Driving positive change among Members of Congress and Hill staff on behalf of individual systems and bus transit alike.

Lance Husak

Deputy Director

Website management, national research and market analysis. Lance makes sure the buses run on time.

Bev Thomas

Membership Director

Managing our membership database, keeping up with leadership changes and all membership and dues processes.